Summer School

Summer School

The mission of `Iolani School's Summer Program is to continue the tradition of leadership and academic excellence in offering students from the community and abroad an opportunity to enrich their knowledge and curiosity through engaging curriculum and interactive learning environments in order to foster lifelong learners ready for the 21st century and beyond.

Update Notice: Online registration and payment system will be closed starting Tuesday, July 5 at 8 AM for updates prior to the start of After School Programs in August. For inquiries in regards to Summer School, please email spo [at] (spo [at] )or call 943-2262.

2016 Catalogue (PDF)

2016 Summer Sessions:

  • Grades K-5 Primary Session:
    June 13 - July 22
    (six weeks)
  • Grades K-8 Auxiliary Session:
    July 25 - Aug. 5
    (two, one-week sessions)
  • Grades 6-12 Primary Session:
    June 13 - July 22
    (six weeks) 
  • Grades 6-12 Session 1:
    June 13 - July 1
    (July 4 is Independence Day - School Holiday)
  • Grades 6-12 Session 2:
    July 5 - 22

Online Registration: Online registration is closed for the summer session.  For inquiries in regards to Summer School, please email spo [at] (spo [at] )or call 943-2262.


Forms and Important Links:

Lunch Menus, Price List and Hours
Mail-in/Walk-in Registration Form (fillable PDF)
Online Registration Tutorial Video
Summer Program Textbook Purchase
Summer Health Form and Requirements (PDF) -- required for applicants residing outside the State of Hawai'i and homeschooled students
Summer Drop-off and Pick-up Areas Map (PDF)
Lower School Classroom Map (PDF)
Upper School Classroom Map (PDF)

Closed Courses:

(Courses that are full with a full wait list as of 5/17/16 10:00 am)

Auxiliary Closed Course Name



Minecraft on Mars Gr. 3-5 Week 1 8:00 - 10:30 am K215S11
Keiki Adventures all grades Week 1 8:00 am - 4:00 pm







Lower School Closed Course Name




Animate- 3D Sculptacular! Gr. 3-5

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm G833S01
Art History Alive Gr. 3-5 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G805S

Art in the Wild Gr. 1-3 

7:30 am- 11:30 am


Be a Mad Scientist Gr. 3-4 

7:30 am- 11:30 am


Bookworm Theater Gr. K-1

12:30 pm- 2:30 pm  G844S

Bricks 4 Kidz Gr. K-1

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G837S
Broadway and Beyond Gr. 2-3 7:30 am - 11:30 am G831S

Camp Read and Write S'more! Gr. 1-2

7:30 am - 11:30 am G708S
Creation Exploration Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am



Creative Coding Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm




Design Fun

Grades K, 2, 3, and 4

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm 






Design It- Make It Gr. 4-5 (6 week program)

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm G804S1
Entering Grade 1

7:30 am - 11:30 am



Entering Grade 3

7:30 am - 11:30 am G306S
Entering Grade 4 Language Arts

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 



Entering Grade 5 Language Arts

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 



Entering Grade 5 Math

7:30 am - 9:30 am 

9:45 am - 11:45 am 



Feasting on Literature Gr. 3-4

7:30 am - 11:30 am


Food Sleuths Gr. 3-5

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G810S1

Fun with Taiko Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am G847S11
Keiki Fitness Gr. 1-3 7:30 am - 11:30 am



Keiki o Ka La Gr. K-1 7:30 am - 12:30 pm 



Let's Put on a Show! Gr. 3-5

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm session 1 G818S
Literacy Adventures

7:30 am - 11:30 am

Logic and Reasoning Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am

9:45 am - 11:45 am 




Marvelous Math Gr. 2-3

7:30 am - 11:30 am G703S

Math and Science Team Up Gr. 1-2

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G822S
New York Broadway Drama Gr. 3-5 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm session 2 G827S1
Spanish Summer Fiesta Gr. 2-4 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm G839S

Sports and Leadership

Gr. 2-5

12:30 pm - 4:30 pm

sessions 1 and 2



STEM Engineering Gr. 2-3

12:30 pm- 2:30 pm


STEM Engineering Gr. 4-5

7:30 am- 9:30 am

9:45 am- 11:45 am



Swimming Gr. 1-5

12:30 pm - 1:10 pm ses 1 & 2

2:45 pm - 3:25 pm ses 1 & 2

W107S1 & W108S1

W107S4 & W108S4

The Science Around Us Gr. 4-5

7:30 am - 9:30 am

9:45 am - 11:45 am



Wonders of the Coral Reef Gr. 1-2

7:30 am- 11:30 am

Upper School Closed Course Name Time Code

Welcome to the Kitchen

10:30 am-12:30 pm


Physical Education

8:00 am-2:15 pm

All sections

Life Skills

8:00 am-12:30 pm

All sections


8:00 am-12:30 pm

All sections


1:15 pm-3:15 pm



8:00 am-12:30 pm

All sections

Algebra 1 Honors Review

8:00 am-10:00 am


Intro to Laser Cutting

10:30 am-12:30 pm


Fun with Fabrics

10:30 am-12:30 pm


Code: Fun!

1:15 pm-3:15 pm


Study Skills Session 1 and 2

1:15 pm-3:15 pm


Driver's Education Session 1 and 2

1:15 pm-4:15 pm


What's App!

10:30 am-12:30 pm


Math 6 Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm M731S2
Logical Thinkers Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm 980S2
Making Film 8:00 am-12:30 pm T280S1/T280S2
Writing Sense Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm E452S2
P/SAT and ACT Prep 1:15 pm-3:15 pm T695S
Fiction & Film Short Story Session  1 8:00 am-10:00 am E653S1
JAVA Programming 10:30 am-12:30 pm D221S

Cancelled Courses:

Amateur Radio Session 1 and 2

1:15 pm-3:15 pm

T621S and T622S

Slam! Session 1 and 2 8:00 am-10:00 am E901S/E902S
Hero Within and Without   8:00 am-12:30 pm E453S
Communication and Media 8:00 am-12:30 pm E559S
Aloha: Care for Our Kupuna 8:00 am-10:00 am I610S001
Character in Sport Session 1 10:30 am-12:30 pm T481S1
Computer Keyboarding Session 1 8:00 am-10:00 am T263S1
Creative Crafts 10:30 am-12:30 pm A633S2
Writing Sense Session 1 8:00 am-12:30 pm E431S1/E431S2
Fiction and Film: The Novel 10:30 am-12:30 pm E655S
Fiction and FIlm: Short Story 10:30-12:30 pm E654S
Some Science, Some Math Session 1 10:30 am-12:30 pm 703S2
Science in Our Stars Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm 719S2
Problem Solving Session 1 10:30 am-12:30 pm M991S0003
Math Counts Session 2 8:00 am-10:00 am M901S1
Speak Ease Session 2 10:30 am-12:30 pm E594S0002
Orchestra Reading Lab 12:30 pm-1:30 pm C105S
Ensemble Skills Orchestra 11:30 am-12:30 pm C115S
Japanese 2 8:00 am-10:00 am L433S
i2 Engineering and Design Workshop 1 8:30 am-2:15 pm K170S

Summer sports teams may begin meeting as early as Monday, May 16. Coaches for these different sports teams will determine schedules, times and activities for the athletes. Please see the below for sport specific email addresses in regards to questions and inquiries.
The `Iolani Summer Teams program is designed for `Iolani students that currently participate in the Interscholastic League of Honolulu during the academic year. The various summer sport-specific teams have organized workouts, conditioning/weightlifting sessions or participate in summer sport leagues.`Iolani Summer Sports Teams Information:

Students enrolling in ‘Iolani Athletics must complete the additional WAIVER (below) and submit it to the athletic trainers, Mr. Charley Gima or Ms. Louise Inafuku, PRIOR to start of the Summer Program. WAIVERS can be found below as well as in the Summer School Office in the Castle Building. Students will not be allowed to participate if WAIVER form has not been turned in. WAIVERS may be returned via email to geemz [at] or linafuku [at], or hard copy to the Athletic Trainer’s Office.

`Iolani Summer Sports Teams Waiver :

Summer Program Waiver (fillable PDF)



Baseball baseball [at]
Boys Basketball boysbasketball [at]
Boys Bowling boysbowling [at]
Boys Cross Country boyscrosscountry [at]
Boys Golf boysgolf [at]
Boys Paddling boyspaddling [at]
Boys Soccer boyssoccer [at]
Boys Tennis boystennis [at]
Boys Track boystrack [at]
Boys Volleyball  boysvolleyball [at]
Boys Water Polo  boyswaterpolo [at]
Cheerleading cheerleading [at]
Football football [at]
Girls Basketball girlsbasketball [at]
Girls Bowling girlsbowling [at]
Girls Cross Country girlscrosscountry [at]
Girls Paddling girlspaddling [at]
Girls Soccer girlssoccer [at]
Girls Tennis girlstennis [at]
Girls Track girlstrack [at]
Girls Volleyball girlsvolleyball [at]
Girls Water Polo girlswaterpolo [at]
Girls Golf girlsgolf [at]
Judo judo [at]
Kayaking kayaking [at]
Sailing sailing [at]
Softball softball [at]
Swimming swimming [at]
Wrestling wrestling [at]

Contact the Summer Program Office:

`Iolani School
563 Kamoku Street
Honolulu, Hawai‘i  96826
Phone:  (808)-943-2262
Email:  spo [at]
Natalie Hansen
Director of Lower School Summer Program (grades K-5)
Email:  nhansen [at]
Phone:  (808) 943-2368 
Erik Yamamoto
Director of Upper School Summer Program (grades 6-12)
Email:  eyamamot [at]
Phone:  (808) 943-2357
2016 Catalogue
A diverse range of enrichment and academic summer courses are offered.
KA‘I Program
Kūkulu Alaka‘i ‘Iolani is a summertime partnership with Jarrett Middle School.

"I had some great teachers at ‘Iolani. I wasn’t always the best student, but I remember being challenged and inspired. I also remember my fellow students being really smart and awesome. I was also fortunate to have the opportunity to teach at ‘Iolani for three years with Mr. Roberts. He taught me a lot about being an artist and a teacher. He trusted me and gave me the first opportunity to really be a teacher. Without Dave Roberts, I would not be where I am today."